senior weekend

I started writing Senior Weekend my teen comedy today.  The character list and backgrounds took a long time to start setting up because it is such a large ensemble piece and the character interactions are kind of precise.  It’s kind of my tribute to John Hughes where these kids find out who they are and who they want to be and learn how they are not so different when they learn to accept each other for who they are. 

I spent an hour yesterday flushing out a first ACT and thinking.  I also compiled all my saved oneliners and scene ideas.  Today I started my character charts, and wrote the first two pages.  Baby steps.  Tomorrow I want to finish character cards, and work more on second ACT structure.  I also want to write up to the first 10 pages.   

It’s a lot to do, but I need to get my ass in gear.  I’ll have a job soon and I’ll wish I had this free time to write.

5 Celebs news.  I need to write a synopsis for the Relativity contest and get it submitted.  Also need to buy HCR’s 2010 book and start querying.

Leave a Reply

